The Mysterious Bookshop

Peter May - The Chessmen

Sold out.

Peter May's incredible Lewis Trilogy concludes in The Chessmen.  Now living permanently on the Hebridean Isle of Lewis, former Edinburgh policeman Fin Macleod has finally settled in a quiet existence as a security officer for a local landowner.  A run-in with a childhood friend is cut short, though, when a freak natural phenomenon reveals the remains of a small plane at the bottom of loch.  Both men know immediately to whom it belongs--but Fin is almost certain his old friend his hiding something.  Beautifully written and atmospheric, the series has become as store favorite, and this concluding volume makes for a perfect end-cap.  The author did not tour the U.S., so we cannot offer signed copies I'm afraid.  But this series deserves to be read regardless. 

First edition.


Specializing in Mystery Fiction and all its subgenres, including Detective, Crime, Hardboiled, Thrillers, Espionage, and Suspense.

Now offering curb-side or in-store pickup! Choose the option during check out and we'll let you know when your order is ready.

Located at 58 Warren St in New York City, we are open Monday-Saturday from 11am-7pm.

*We ship worldwide*


Sign up for our newsletter! Click on the tab at the top of the site to learn more!