The Mysterious Bookshop

Kenneth Wishnia - Blood Lake

Kenneth Wishnia finishes up his excellent hardboiled series featuring PI Filomena Buscarsela in Blood Lake. On a visit to her hometown in Ecuador, Filomena is flooded with memories of her early life there, some good, some bad. But when a local priest is murdered, a man who helped her escape to the US, she finds herself digging into secrets best left hidden. Normally set in New York City, it’s a treat to see this character go international. Smart, capable, and a truly working-class detective, Filomena is a must for fans of Sue Graton, Sara Paretsky, and Dennis Lehane.

Featured New Titles

Specializing in Mystery Fiction and all its subgenres, including Detective, Crime, Hardboiled, Thrillers, Espionage, and Suspense.

Located at 58 Warren St in New York City, we are open Monday-Saturday from 11am-7pm. 212.587.1011

Sign up for our newsletter! Click on the tab at the top of the site to learn more!