The Mysterious Bookshop

AJ Finn - The Woman in the Window - Signed

Sold out.

SOLD OUT.

*Later printings only*

Otto Penzler's Book of the Month review, from our February Newsletter:

"I thought this was the most over-hyped book of the year when I saw that it received a huge advance payment, was sold in 37 countries, was bought for $1,000,000 for the movies, and had a staggering first printing. Then I read it and understood all that enthusiasm. It is the story of Anna Fox, a woman suffering from severe agoraphobia, confining her to her home where her major interests are drinking (Merlot), watching noir movies, and watching her neighbors, especially the young man and his parents who live across a small park. Looking through their never-curtained window, she witnesses a brutal murder and calls the police. If the actual murder is the first shock in the book, the second is not far behind—and there are more to come. This debut novel shot to #1 on the N.Y. Times bestseller list the first week it was released and rightly so. It is so well written that it is fit to stand alongside Gillian Flynn’s Gone Girl. Finn was heavily influenced by Flynn, Paula Hawkins (though he is a far superior stylist), and Alfred Hitchcock—notably Rear Window—stealing the best elements of them all and adding his own diabolical twists for his unique narrative."

------------------------------------------------------------

For readers of Gillian Flynn and Tana French comes one of the decade’s most anticipated debuts, to be published in thirty-six languages around the world and already in development as a major film from Fox: a twisty, powerful Hitchcockian thriller about an agoraphobic woman who believes she witnessed a crime in a neighboring house.

It isn’t paranoia if it’s really happening . . .

Anna Fox lives alone—a recluse in her New York City home, unable to venture outside. She spends her day drinking wine (maybe too much), watching old movies, recalling happier times . . . and spying on her neighbors.

Then the Russells move into the house across the way: a father, a mother, their teenage son. The perfect family. But when Anna, gazing out her window one night, sees something she shouldn’t, her world begins to crumble—and its shocking secrets are laid bare.

What is real? What is imagined? Who is in danger? Who is in control? In this diabolically gripping thriller, no one—and nothing—is what it seems.

Twisty and powerful, ingenious and moving, The Woman in the Window is a smart, sophisticated novel of psychological suspense that recalls the best of Hitchcock.

Specializing in Mystery Fiction and all its subgenres, including Detective, Crime, Hardboiled, Thrillers, Espionage, and Suspense.

Located at 58 Warren St in New York City, we are open Monday-Saturday from 11am-7pm. 212.587.1011

Sign up for our newsletter! Click on the tab at the top of the site to learn more!