The Mysterious Bookshop

Antonia Hodgson - The Devil in the Marshalsea

It’s 1727 and the Marshalsea Gaol is renowned as one of the worst places for a debtor to end up. But that’s just where Tom Hawkins finds himself after living lavish live of cards and women and not paying his bills. It isn’t long, though, before Hawkins realizes that not only is there a murderer on the loose, the place might be haunted as well. Scrounging and doing favors just to survive, he soon discovers he may be next on the hit list and he’ll have to do something fast if he’s going to capture the perpetrator and spare his own neck. The Devil in Marshalea is a terrific debut from Antonia Hodgson, an editor at Little, Brown’s UK division. “Hodgson makes the stench, as well as the despair, almost palpable, besides expertly dropping fair clues. Fans of Iain Pears and Charles Palliser will hope for a sequel.”—Publishers Weekly (starred review).

PBO.

First edition.

Signed.

Welcome

We are devoted to all things mysterious, from hard-boiled hardcovers to pulpy paperbacks, suspected signings and whispers around town.

Located at 58 Warren St in New York City, we are open Monday-Saturday from 11am-7pm. 212.587.1011

Want to get a free gift AND be entered into a monthly raffle? Sign up for our newsletter! Click on the tab at the top of the site to learn more!